Tue, 05 Mar 2024 // 00:55 (GMT +1)
Promoting Good Governance and Citizens' Access

News Article


Senate Receives Additional 19 Nominees for Appointment as Ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

The Senate has received from President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the names of 19 additional nominees to be appointed as Ministers, which was officially submitted through his Chief of Staff (CoS), Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila at the plenary session of Wednesday, 2 August 2023.

The President of the Senate, Sen. Godswill Akpabio (APC: Akwa Ibom) following the conclusion of the confirmation hearing of the 28 nominees earlier presented by President Tinubu, promptly acknowledged the receipt of the nominations of the following persons to be appointed as Ministers:

  1. Mr. Ahmed Tijani Gwarzo – Kano State
  2. Mr. Bosun Tijani – Ogun State
  3. Dr. Mariam Shetty – Kano State
  4. Dr. Isiak Salako – Ogun State
  5. Dr. Tunji Alausa – Lagos State
  6. Dr. Yusuf Tanko Sununu – Kebbi State
  7. H.E Adegboyega Oyetola – Osun State
  8. H.E Atiku Bagudu – Kebbi State
  9. H.E Bello Matawalle – Zamfara State
  10. H.E Ibrahim Geidam – Yobe State
  11. H.E Simon Bako Lalong – Plateau State
  12. Lola Ade John – Lagos
  13. Prince Shuaibu Abubakar Audu – Kogi State
  14. Prof. Tahir Mamman – Adamawa State
  15. Sen. Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi – Niger State
  16. Sen. Alkali Ahmed Said – Gombe State
  17. Sen. Heineken Lokpobiri – Bayelsa State
  18. Uba Maigari Ahmadu – Taraba State
  19. Hon. Zephaniah Jisalo – FCT

With the submission of the additional names to the Senate, Sen. Akpabio stated that the confirmation hearing of the nominees will commence on Friday, 4 August 2023, at plenary after the screening exercise with all relevant authorities have been conducted.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print