Fri, 09 Dec 2022 // 07:10 (GMT +1)
English Français
Promoting Good Governance and Citizens' Access

News Article

PLAC Commends President Buhari’s Assent to Police Bill, 2020

President Buhari Writes to the Senate Requesting the Confirmation of RECs for INEC

President Muhammadu Buhari has written to the Senate requesting the confirmation of nineteen (19) persons for appointment as Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

In his letter dated, 25 July 2022, read at the Senate’s plenary on Tuesday, 26 July 2022, President Muhammadu Buhari stated that his request was in line with the provisions of section 154 (1) of the 1999 Constitution which provides that:

“Except in the case of ex officio members or where other provisions are made in this Constitution, the Chairman and members of any of the bodies so established shall, subject to the provisions of this Constitution, be appointed by the President and the appointment shall be subject to confirmation by the Senate”.

President Buhari further stated in his letter that he will be renewing the appointment of five (5) nominees for a second and final term, while fourteen (14) others were new appointments for an initial term of 5years. The nominees are as follows:

  1. Ibrahim Abdullahi (mni.) (Adamawa State)- Renewal of Appointment
  2. Obo Effanga (Cross River State)- Renewal of Appointment)
  3. Prof. Umar Ibrahim (Taraba State)- Renewal of Appointment
  4. Prof. Agboke Mutiu Olaleke (Ogun State)- Renewal of Appointment
  5. Prof. Samuel E. Egwu (Kogi State)- Renewal of Appointment
  6. Onyeka Pauline Ugochi (Imo State)- New Appointment
  7. Prof. Mohammed Lawal Bashar (Sokoto State) – New Appointment
  8. Prof. Ayobami Salami (Oyo State)- New Appointment
  9. Amb. Zango Abdulsamadu Abdu (mni.) (Katsina State)- New Appointment
  10. Dr. Agundu Oliver Tarsuur (Benue State)- New Appointment
  11. Prof. Yahaya Makarfi Ibrahim (Kaduna State)- New Appointment
  12. Agu Slyvia Uchenna (Enugu State)- New Appointment
  13. Dr. Nura Ali (Kano State)- New Appointment
  14. Ahmed Yushehu Garki (FCT)- New Appointment
  15. Barr. Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi State)- New Appointment
  16. Prof. Uzochukwu Ikemefuna Chijioke (Anambra State)- New Appointment
  17. Mohammed B. Nura (Yobe State)- New Appointment
  18. Yomere Gabriel Oristemlebi (Delta State)- New Appointment
  19. Mrs. Queen Elizabeth Agwu (Ebonyi State)- New Appointment

It is expected that the Senate Committee on INEC will conduct the screening of the aforementioned nominees following the Senate’s referral of the President’s request to the Committee for further legislative action.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print