News Story

  • Home
  • Speaker Declares House of Reps Seats Vacant

Speaker Declares House of Reps Seats Vacant

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on print

Two Members of the House of Representatives, Hon. Tunji Olubunmi-Ojo and Hon. Tanko Sunono were among those appointed as Ministers by President Tinubu. Olubunmi-Ojo was appointed Minister of Interior while Sonunu was appointed Minister of State for Education. Following this development, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas read their resignation letters on the floor of the House on September 26 and declared their  seats vacant. He urged the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to organise bye-elections to fill these seats.

Prior to their ministerial appointments, Hon. Olubunmi-Ojo represented Akoko North East/Akoko North West Federal Constituency of Ondo State, while Hon. Sunono represented Yauri/Shanta/Ngaski Federal Constituency of Kebbi State.

Section 68 of the 1999 Constitution provides that a member of the Senate or House of Representatives shall vacate his or her seat upon taking up an Executive position such as President, Vice President, Governor, Deputy Governor, Minister, Commissioner or Special Adviser. However, not all ministerial appointees of the President who were sworn in as members of the National Assembly have tendered their resignation for their seats to be declared vacant. In the Senate, David Umahi from Ebonyi and Ibrahim Geidam from Yobe State are yet to formally resign their positions.

In another development, Salisu Majigiri was sworn in as the member representing Mashi/Dutsi Federal Constituency of Katsina State, following his victory at the February 25 National Assembly elections and subsequent affirmation of his candidacy by the Supreme Court.