The Senate has confirmed the appointment of new board members for the National Assembly Service Commission with Ahmed Amshi, the former Chief of Staff to the President of the Senate, Senator Ahmad Lawan as Chairman. Mr. Amshi, along with 12 others will be serving as the Executive Chairman and Members of the Commission.

In a letter read by the President of the Senate, Sen. Ahmad Lawan at the plenary session of Tuesday, 10 December 2019,  President Muhammadu Buhari forwarded the names of the nominees for screening and confirmation. Members of the Board include: Babagana Modu, Sen. Abubakar Tutare, Hakeem Akamo, Tunrayo Akintomide, Atanomeyorwi Francis, Engr. Bassey Etuk, Hon. Bassey Etuk, Hon. Bailyaminu Yusuf Shinkafi, Sadi Saidu Kazaure, Sen. Julius Ucha, Nnamdi Anyaehie, Auwalu Aliyu Ohindase and Muazu Is’haq.

The constitution of a new Board has raised several controversy arising from the earlier nomination of Sen. Joy Emordi as the Executive Chairman and the extension of tenure for the Clerk of the National Assembly. Sen. Emordi who had been earlier nominated for the office was expected to take over from Dr. Adamu Fika, the immediate past Chairman, whose tenure expired in July 2019, following his retirement from the Federal Civil Service, failed to make the list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *